Model textures too sharp (no LOD)

A Forum Thread for Source Engine

Attention Gamer! We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

  • Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending DomiTibingen points.
  • Post: Give DomiTibingen your thoughts on this Thread.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Stop Lurking!

Sign up

Already a Bananite? Login

Hello.

I have a Wip about Source grass models  V2 and my grass has sharp flickering pixeled textures.
From the distance the grass textures don't blur and look to sharp. 
SO I would like to know is there a way to fix this? 
Maybe i need to add more map channels in 3DS max or something else? 

Thanks!

Posts

  • 1y
    Devieus avatar
    Devieus avatar ONLINE
    Moderator Joined 7y
    80,755 points Ranked 47th
    63 medals 4 legendary 10 rare
    • 1st Place - Tutorial Contest Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Twelve Winner! Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Sixteen Winner! Medal icon
    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    • Agree x 1
    Sentinel of the TV remote avatar
    Mantra
    Sentinel of the TV remote
  • 1y
    DomiTibingen avatar
    Member Joined 5y
    1,276 points Ranked 3688th
    16 medals 1 rare
    • Submitted 15 Models Medal icon
    • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    Found out that when i use $alphatest the textures of grass are sharp, but when i use translucent they are good and blury from distance but they have soring issues....

    Like a boss
  • 1y
    DomiTibingen avatar
    Member Joined 5y
    1,276 points Ranked 3688th
    16 medals 1 rare
    • Submitted 15 Models Medal icon
    • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    P.S. - witch mitmaps? i use diffuse and opacity

    Like a boss
  • 1y
    Devieus avatar
    Devieus avatar ONLINE
    Moderator Joined 7y
    80,755 points Ranked 47th
    63 medals 4 legendary 10 rare
    • 1st Place - Tutorial Contest Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Twelve Winner! Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Sixteen Winner! Medal icon
    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    P.S. - witch mitmaps? i use diffuse and opacity

    It's a thing VTF has, it being a child file type of DDS. If you enable mipmaps during texture creation, the texture file will contain multiple copies of itself each being 1/4 the size of the previous layer down to a pixel. When you're too far away, the game will show a different mipmap so the textures doesn't look as sharp.
    • Helpful x 1
    • Interesting x 1
    • Thanks x 1
    Sentinel of the TV remote avatar
    Mantra
    Sentinel of the TV remote
  • 1y
    DomiTibingen avatar
    Member Joined 5y
    1,276 points Ranked 3688th
    16 medals 1 rare
    • Submitted 15 Models Medal icon
    • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    Posted by Devieus

    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    P.S. - witch mitmaps? i use diffuse and opacity

    It's a thing VTF has, it being a child file type of DDS. If you enable mipmaps during texture creation, the texture file will contain multiple copies of itself each being 1/4 the size of the previous layer down to a pixel. When you're too far away, the game will show a different mipmap so the textures doesn't look as sharp.
    Hmm.... Thank you. :) I'm still new in this... can you tell me what mipmap filter should I use? and Sharpen filter?

    Like a boss
  • 1y
    Devieus avatar
    Devieus avatar ONLINE
    Moderator Joined 7y
    80,755 points Ranked 47th
    63 medals 4 legendary 10 rare
    • 1st Place - Tutorial Contest Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Twelve Winner! Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Sixteen Winner! Medal icon
    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    P.S. - witch mitmaps? i use diffuse and opacity

    It's a thing VTF has, it being a child file type of DDS. If you enable mipmaps during texture creation, the texture file will contain multiple copies of itself each being 1/4 the size of the previous layer down to a pixel. When you're too far away, the game will show a different mipmap so the textures doesn't look as sharp.
    Hmm.... Thank you. :) I'm still new in this... can you tell me what mipmap filter should I use? and Sharpen filter?


    There's only one, unless you're using some weird arcane VTF exporter.
    Sentinel of the TV remote avatar
    Mantra
    Sentinel of the TV remote
  • 1y
    DomiTibingen avatar
    Member Joined 5y
    1,276 points Ranked 3688th
    16 medals 1 rare
    • Submitted 15 Models Medal icon
    • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    Posted by Devieus

    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    P.S. - witch mitmaps? i use diffuse and opacity

    It's a thing VTF has, it being a child file type of DDS. If you enable mipmaps during texture creation, the texture file will contain multiple copies of itself each being 1/4 the size of the previous layer down to a pixel. When you're too far away, the game will show a different mipmap so the textures doesn't look as sharp.
    Hmm.... Thank you. :) I'm still new in this... can you tell me what mipmap filter should I use? and Sharpen filter?


    There's only one, unless you're using some weird arcane VTF exporter.
    I'm using VTFedit to create textures... but I found something on valve dev. viki.... 

    Like a boss

Share

Shareable Image:
Share banner
HTML embed code:
BB embed code:
Markdown embed code:

More embeddable images

Bookmark and Share

Submitter

DomiTibingen avatar
Member Joined 5y
1,276 points Ranked 3688th
16 medals 1 rare
  • Submitted 15 Models Medal icon
  • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
  • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
  • One month a member Medal icon
  • 6 months a member Medal icon
  • 1 year a member Medal icon

DomiTibingen
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!

Category

Stats

Posts
7
Views
1,398
Date Added
1y
Date Modified
1y

Featurings

  • Today's Pick May 19 2016
bcp.crwdcntrl.net tracking pixel