specs question

A Forum Thread for Counter-Strike: Source

Attention Gamer! We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

  • Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending Got Shot? points.
  • Post: Give Got Shot? your thoughts on this Thread.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Sound fun?

Sign up

Already a Bananite? Login

I currently have.. p4 2 ghz 512 ddr Also, I put my comp together myself and I notice that comps you buy from actual companies like HP or Compaq with the same specs run much more smoother, I was told by a friend that the reason mine isnt as smooth is because the parts are generic and dont work too well together as they should. do you guys think that these specs are suficiant in your opinons for HL2/CS:S? I currently have a GF4 MX 440 128 MB but I'm saving up for a x600 or 800

Posts

  • 13y
    nemes1s avatar
    nemes1s Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    364 points Ranked 11275th
    E-bay or any factory outlet in your area, sell your old crappy comp. and get a new one cheap. Or just sell parts of your comp. and get new parts cheap.
    Just keepin' it fresh.
  • 13y
    ♂Ω©®мٌ avatar
    Member Joined 13y
    1,013 points Ranked 4612th
    Posted by .nemes1s.>Sell your 2.0 and get a 2.5 for cheap.

    Where would I sell this, mabye on eBay?
    Bananite
  • 13y
    PSILOCYBIN avatar
    PSILOCYBIN Offline
    Member Joined 13y
    I have a 2.0GHz OCed at 2.61. my MB is only 533MHz bus and I was wondering if i could get a 2.8GHz with 533Mhz bus and stick it in there. Or even a 3.0GHz. Any feedback?
    Bananite
  • 13y
    nemes1s avatar
    nemes1s Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    364 points Ranked 11275th
    Posted by Anarchy>I'm not positive on the voucher. I should hope that it applies in Canada, considering ATi is based there.

    Nah I'm not worried about the voucher, I just hope the 9800XT will do good.
    Just keepin' it fresh.
  • 13y
    alive avatar
    alive Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    1,002 points Ranked 4666th
    Wait, what card do you have to buy to get a hl2 voucher?

    I was planning on buy a new card anyway..
    small avatar much??!?
  • 13y
    Anarchy avatar
    Anarchy Offline
    Member Joined 16y
    157 points Ranked 20979th
    7 medals 1 legendary 1 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    • 2 years a member Medal icon
    I'm not positive on the voucher. I should hope that it applies in Canada, considering ATi is based there.
    Bananite
  • 13y
    nemes1s avatar
    nemes1s Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    364 points Ranked 11275th
    Posted by Anarchy>You aren't going to notice much difference between 2000 and 2400, to be honest. Recommended specifications are for the best gameplay experience, many people confuse them as requirements.

    You will definately need to upgrade your graphics card, and while an x800 isn't absolutely necessary, it only costs $50 more than a 9800xt.


    I hope the 9800XT will do good, especially for HL2, because I'm planning on buying it soon if it is truely recomended.

    As for the voucher, is that only in the US ?
    Just keepin' it fresh.
  • 13y
    Anarchy avatar
    Anarchy Offline
    Member Joined 16y
    157 points Ranked 20979th
    7 medals 1 legendary 1 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    • 2 years a member Medal icon
    You aren't going to notice much difference between 2000 and 2400, to be honest. Recommended specifications are for the best gameplay experience, many people confuse them as requirements.

    You will definately need to upgrade your graphics card, and while an x800 isn't absolutely necessary, it only costs $50 more than a 9800xt.
    Bananite
  • 13y
    Got Shot? avatar
    Got Shot? Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    Yea I know of one in my area .. factorydirect.ca

    thanks for the tips
    Bananite
  • 13y
    nemes1s avatar
    nemes1s Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    364 points Ranked 11275th
    There's always one factory outlet, or even more in each city. There you'll find lot's of cheap things, including the XT.
    Just keepin' it fresh.
  • 13y
    Goerge avatar
    Goerge avatar Fapping
    Member Joined 15y
    532 points Ranked 8243rd
    13 medals 2 legendary 2 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 200 Threads Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    • Became a Club Leader Medal icon
    • 1 post awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    Anyhting by MSI, Abit, Asus are fine by me....
    Asus P4c800 i think r best for pentium4's
    Asus imo has the best for AMD xp cpu's
    MSI has the best for AMD 64bits but the benchmarks between the 3 brands are so close, u prolly won't know the diff, just dont get anything too cheap :p
     avatar
    Mantra
  • 13y
    Got Shot? avatar
    Got Shot? Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    Yea maybe I should take out my mobo and vid card and replace those 2, + another strip of 512 and ill be set.. anyone know how much a good mobo goes for? Cause the crappy ECS mobo I have now only supports 4X AGP and that could be a problem if I gets me a x800

    **

    I just got Doom 3 too today and now I know what im getting myself into with my shit card .. Doom 3 even says GF4 MX are good enough for the game but not mine :S .. even on the lowests settings it was choppy and with HL2 the specs are higher so I g2 upgrade fast..
    Bananite
  • 13y
    nemes1s avatar
    nemes1s Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    364 points Ranked 11275th
    Sell your 2.0 and get a 2.5 for cheap.
    Just keepin' it fresh.
  • 13y
    Goerge avatar
    Goerge avatar Fapping
    Member Joined 15y
    532 points Ranked 8243rd
    13 medals 2 legendary 2 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 200 Threads Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    • Became a Club Leader Medal icon
    • 1 post awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    i duno, the physics and ai may cause you some lag, if it does, then u'll need a faster cpu
     avatar
    Mantra
  • 13y
    Got Shot? avatar
    Got Shot? Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    yea i noe.. u think from 2.4 to 2 ghz is much of a diffrence? cuz i plan on getting another 512 strip
    Bananite
  • 13y
    nemes1s avatar
    nemes1s Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    364 points Ranked 11275th
    And to think with all the money these ass holes are making, you'd think they'll lower the prices down, way down, especially for the hardware part, but instead they just anal rape you till every single dollar you have is gone.
    Just keepin' it fresh.
  • 13y
    Got Shot? avatar
    Got Shot? Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    damn.. I know tons of people who are gunna have to upgrade then.. 2.4 is pretty demanding in gaming specs aswell as 512 ram they jumped big time in required and prefered specs with hl2/css
    Bananite
  • 13y
    Goerge avatar
    Goerge avatar Fapping
    Member Joined 15y
    532 points Ranked 8243rd
    13 medals 2 legendary 2 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 200 Threads Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    • Became a Club Leader Medal icon
    • 1 post awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    for what doom3 or hl2.. i think minumum for hl2 was like 1.2GHz and recommended was 2.4

    Minimum Requirements

    *1.2 GHz Processor

    *256MB RAM

    DirectX 7 level graphics card

    *Windows 2000/XP/ME/98

    *Mouse

    *Keyboard

    Preferred System

    *2.4 GHz Processor

    *512MB RAM

    *DirectX 9 level graphics card

    *Windows 2000/XP

    *Mouse

    *Keyboard
     avatar
    Mantra
  • 13y
    nemes1s avatar
    nemes1s Offline
    Member Joined 15y
    364 points Ranked 11275th
    Minimum is like 2.5 lol.
    Just keepin' it fresh.
  • 13y
    Goerge avatar
    Goerge avatar Fapping
    Member Joined 15y
    532 points Ranked 8243rd
    13 medals 2 legendary 2 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 200 Threads Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    • Became a Club Leader Medal icon
    • 1 post awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    u may wan to get 1gig of ram, and an x600 or x800 would be more than enough.
    u may also want at least 2.4GHz cpu
     avatar
    Mantra
  • 13y
    PSILOCYBIN avatar
    PSILOCYBIN Offline
    Member Joined 13y
    It will run. But not like you would like it to. And BTW my last card was a MX 440, and its only a 64MB card.
    Bananite

Share

Shareable Image:
Share banner
HTML embed code:
BB embed code:
Markdown embed code:

More embeddable images

Bookmark and Share

Submitter

Got Shot? avatar
Got Shot? Offline
Member Joined 15y

Got Shot?
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!

Category

Stats

Posts
21
Views
3,744
Date Added
13y
bcp.crwdcntrl.net tracking pixel