Ads keep us online. Without them, we wouldn't exist. We don't have paywalls or sell mods - we never will. But every month we have large bills and running ads is our only way to cover them. Please consider unblocking us. Thank you from GameBanana <3

What makes a good or bad chart, in your opinion? - A Forum Thread for Friday Night Funkin'

rhythm game players give me your wisdom

Hey there. I’m relatively new to charting, and most of my rhythm game knowledge comes from Taiko no Tatsujin, so charting arrow maps is new territory for me and other modders who got into charting because of FNF. 

I’ve notice a lot of experienced rhythm game players complaining about charts for having flaws such as note spam, overusing jacks, etc. etc.— and I’d really be interested in hearing some thoughts from the more experienced community (or even just casual players who are tired of seeing a certain pattern in charts) on what sets a good chart apart from a bad one. I’ve tried looking for tips but a lot of it is for DDR, which mainly focuses on leg movement, so I thought it’d be cool to make a thread for it here.

I also feel like a tutorial/thread for explaining stuff like what qualifies as note spam/what certain terms mean etc. would be cool and help a bunch of new modders! I found a ref for DDR here that explains jacks and stairs and other things for anyone who needs it. 

Thanks in advance if you share your tips, any tips are appreciated. :-)

also i probably dont need to say this but please dont use this as a thread to bash on other peoples charts like “bro i hate the [example] mod’s charting literal trash” 
  • (imo)

personally, I consider myself slightly above average at fnf, this was the first rhythm game I got super into so I'm no veteran at rhythm games or whatever but I have fc'd all of base game and b sides (besides milf) on Kade Engine without mashing, if that's anything to go by at all idk lol.