Are you a robot?

A Forum Thread for GameBanana

Could this new "security" feature please be removed again?
I don't know which of the 30 load-in-the-back-websites i have to allow to infect my computer to be able to log in again...

also, i get spam emails for alleged unknown ip logins.

why do you have to "fix" a system, that works?
Sign up to access this!

Replies

  • deadman22 avatar
    deadman22 username pic Joined 11y ago
    Dead
    DeadArt Flag Affiliation: DeadArt
    3,419 points Ranked 1540th
    43 medals 3 legendary 8 rare
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • Became a Ripe Supporter Medal icon
    • 25 posts awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    deadman22 avatar
    deadman22
    DeadArt Flag
    Affiliation
    DeadArt
    1y
    I'm guessing the recent security breach tom mentioned in his blog post is the reason for this.

    Anyways, you just have to click a box and you're done.
    GFX Hobbyist avatar
    Mantra
    GFX Hobbyist
    URL to post:
  • Ganryu avatar
    Ganryu username pic Joined 9y ago
    Ripe Supporter Admin
    There.
    7,975 points Ranked 614th
    36 medals 4 legendary 10 rare
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Achieved Admin clearance Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • Became a Ripe Supporter Medal icon
    • Achieved Super Moderator clearance Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Twenty Winner! Medal icon
    Ganryu avatar
    Ganryu
    Helpful Toastie
    1y 1y
    The security feature will not be removed for the time being. Just as deaman pointed out, there was a security breach that happened not that long ago, and we've had to implement some more security features to try and combat it. For the time being, this security feature is required, and will not be removed. The reason you're getting spammed with emails about logins from unknown IPs probably means that your account may have been compromised, or you're using a VPN/proxy to access the site; either way, consider resetting your password to something stronger.

    My apologies for any inconveniences this may bring to you, but until we've managed to actually stop the ongoing problem, this security feature will have to remain.
    Exhausted...
    URL to post:
  • LANDVOGT avatar
    LANDVOGT Joined 11y ago
    Offline
    14,729 points Ranked 318th
    20 medals 2 legendary 3 rare
    • Submitted 50 Maps Medal icon
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 20 Maps Medal icon
    • 8-14 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2017 Medal icon
    • GameBanana Around the Globe Contest Entrant Medal icon
    1y
    you do not understand the problem.

    first of all, i dont "just have to click a box", but i have to temporarily allow a bunch of pages that load crap in the back that i dont want.
    then, i have to click through a slide of images and hope identify all cars or shopwindows or whatever.

    and then: i get emails from unknown IP's, because i dont have a fixed IP at home but a dynamic one.
    ICH BIN DER LANDVOGT!
    URL to post:
  • YellowJello avatar
    YellowJello username pic Joined 14y ago
    CS1.6 Manager TF2 Manager Moderator
    Jiggling
    Home > Members > Freimaurer
    88,847 points Ranked 37th
    36 medals 3 legendary 7 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 200 Threads Medal icon
    • Submitted 50 Maps Medal icon
    • Reached 75,000 Points Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    1y
    Judging by the blog post that deadman posted, I feel as if extra security was necessary. If you're router or modem has you set up with a dynamic IP address, are you not able to set it so it doesn't do that? I never really understood the purpose of that.
    • Correct x 1
    • Smart x 1
    Jiggle Jiggle avatar
    Mantra
    Jiggle Jiggle
    URL to post:
  • LANDVOGT avatar
    LANDVOGT Joined 11y ago
    Offline
    14,729 points Ranked 318th
    20 medals 2 legendary 3 rare
    • Submitted 50 Maps Medal icon
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 20 Maps Medal icon
    • 8-14 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2017 Medal icon
    • GameBanana Around the Globe Contest Entrant Medal icon
    1y
    its not that i chose to have a dynamic ip. my isp handles it that way -
    ICH BIN DER LANDVOGT!
    URL to post:
  • Xx MAHA xX avatar
    Xx MAHA xX Joined 3y ago
    Offline
    1y
    It is somehow a contest of gamebanana which tells u what to do/select,,,
    lol
    • Correct x 1
    Maha.troy98@gmail.com
    URL to post:
  • Mini avatar
    Mini username pic Joined 11y ago
    CivVI Manager Admin
    Always Watching
    14,783 points Ranked 316th
    49 medals 7 legendary 10 rare
    • 1st Place - Winter Sprays Contest Medal icon
    • Guardian of the Acid Milk Medal icon
    • Achieved Admin clearance Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 2017 Top Contributor Medal icon
    Mini avatar
    Mini
    Community Wizard
    1y
    Unfortunately you're going to have deal with this for the next few weeks. This feature was needed, we didn't add it just for fun, please trust us on that.

    In the new year we are going to be working on less intrusive security features that may allow us to stop using this one.

    If we can't, I'll talk to tom about potentially adding a toggle so people can disable it, at their own risk.
    • Good Idea x 1
    Sometimes I'm just not sure avatar
    Mantra
    Sometimes I'm just not sure
    URL to post:
  • LiveWire avatar
    LiveWire Joined 9y ago
    Offline
    7,765 points Ranked 637th
    15 medals 2 rare
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    1y
    I have the same problem, most UK ISPs have a dynamic IP, and I get the the capture box and warning email every time I log in.  I run FF and script blockers with strict cookie settings that might not be helping.
    Tinkerer
    URL to post:
  • LANDVOGT avatar
    LANDVOGT Joined 11y ago
    Offline
    14,729 points Ranked 318th
    20 medals 2 legendary 3 rare
    • Submitted 50 Maps Medal icon
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 20 Maps Medal icon
    • 8-14 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2017 Medal icon
    • GameBanana Around the Globe Contest Entrant Medal icon
    1y 1y


    • Looks like you're logging in from a new location - please confirm the verification email sent to you

    OH COME ON!
    ICH BIN DER LANDVOGT!
    URL to post:

Embed

Share banner
Image URL
HTML embed code
BB embed code
Markdown embed code

Author

LANDVOGT avatar
LANDVOGT Joined 11y ago
Offline
14,729 points Ranked 318th
20 medals 2 legendary 3 rare
  • Submitted 50 Maps Medal icon
  • 10 years a member Medal icon
  • 6 years a member Medal icon
  • Submitted 20 Maps Medal icon
  • 8-14 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2017 Medal icon
  • GameBanana Around the Globe Contest Entrant Medal icon

LANDVOGT
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!

Game

Sign up to access this!

Category

Share

  • Share on Reddit
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Google+
  • 478 Views
  • 13 Posts
  • 1ySubmitted
  • 1yModified

More from Submitter

WiPs by Submitter

More API Threads

bcp.crwdcntrl.net tracking pixel