SmashForge Modded skins causing game crash

A Forum Thread for Super Smash Bros. for Wii U

SEX! Ok, we got your attention. We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

• Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending redmoon points.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Sound fun?

Already a Bananite? Login

I've been trying to make my very first modded skin for smash 4, but, well lets just say 3D texturing is not what I studied in school and I am a complete amateur. I've mostly just been attacking my problems with trial and error.

The skin I'm working on is a Madoka Kaname, from Madoka Magica, themed skin for Lucina (for those of you familiar with the puella magi madoka magica series, sayaka miki would have made more sense but I like Madoka's pink color scheme more).

I downloaded Blender, however I could not use it to open characters like marth or lucina's nut or nud files. I then downloaded SmashForge which seemed more promising. I could easily open the files I needed, material edit, and edit textures. I was able to material edit Lucina's hair without any crashes, but the second I tried to change one texture and tested it out, the game crashes upon loading the character model after initiating a battle. More specifically I just tried changing the symbol on lucina's cape to this 

http://imgur.com/a/I9cS0

In addition, when I save the NUT file and open it later, about 6 other textures were completely deleted which I then replaced with their default textures. Is there some kind of step I'm missing, or is skin modding just a bit of a pipe dream for someone like me with no real experience.

• 5mo
    Leadingdemon avatar
    Member Joined 11mo
    663 points Ranked 6791st