Crash because of player model

A Forum Thread for Team Fortress 2

So. From my previous posts you may see that im working on a heavy player model. My problem is. Whenever i go into third person or see another heavy the game crashes. It works in the loadout screen. I know this can be anything. But does anyone know the reason and how to fix it?
Here is it: https://www.dropbox.com/s/t457jh3d8na2sx0/heavy.rar?dl=0
Sign up to access this!

Replies

  • Voyager Essex avatar
    Voyager Essex Joined 3y ago
    Daddy is away..
    547 points Ranked 9243rd
    10 medals 1 legendary 1 rare
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • Returned 100 times Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    2y
    I can't even open the model, blender keeps crashing. I think your model has too high a file size due to the amount of tris it has, Jesus, 14 MBs on it, a normal ref model is around >1000 KBs.
    Destroyer of Paradoxes
    URL to post:
  • [N-Cognito] avatar
    [N-Cognito] username pic Joined 7y ago
    TF2 Manager
    Offline
    27,426 points Ranked 163rd
    39 medals 5 legendary 7 rare
    • 1st Place - Halloween Concept Art Contest 2014 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • 30 submissions featured Medal icon
    • 2017 Top Contributor Medal icon
    • Received thanks 50 times Medal icon
    2y
    Your model has too many vertices.

    44767 (to be exact), when the max is 32768. You'll either have to remove some of the mesh, or downgrade the quality of the entire thing.
    Who even finishes mods, right?
    URL to post:
  • KaidemonLP avatar
    KaidemonLP username pic Joined 3y ago
    Offline
    10,027 points Ranked 495th
    20 medals 2 legendary 3 rare
    • 2017 Top Contributor Medal icon
    • 30 submissions featured Medal icon
    • 10 submissions featured Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    2y
    Posted by [N-Cognito]

    Your model has too many vertices.

    44767 (to be exact), when the max is 32768. You'll either have to remove some of the mesh, or downgrade the quality of the entire thing.

    Ok so i reamoved a lot of things and now its just below 32000. But now it crashes whenever i open tf2. Here is the updated version https://www.dropbox.com/s/t457jh3d8na2sx0/heavy.rar?dl=0
    The Juice King avatar
    Mantra
    The Juice King
    URL to post:
  • [N-Cognito] avatar
    [N-Cognito] username pic Joined 7y ago
    TF2 Manager
    Offline
    27,426 points Ranked 163rd
    39 medals 5 legendary 7 rare
    • 1st Place - Halloween Concept Art Contest 2014 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • 30 submissions featured Medal icon
    • 2017 Top Contributor Medal icon
    • Received thanks 50 times Medal icon
    2y
    There seems to be something wrong with your model. It looks fine, until I turn on wireframe and move the camera. 



    This must be what's causing the game to crash, but I don't know whats causing it.
    Who even finishes mods, right?
    URL to post:
  • KaidemonLP avatar
    KaidemonLP username pic Joined 3y ago
    Offline
    10,027 points Ranked 495th
    20 medals 2 legendary 3 rare
    • 2017 Top Contributor Medal icon
    • 30 submissions featured Medal icon
    • 10 submissions featured Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    2y
    Posted by [N-Cognito]

    There seems to be something wrong with your model. It looks fine, until I turn on wireframe and move the camera. 



    This must be what's causing the game to crash, but I don't know whats causing it.

    Any explanation why it works on the loadout screen? I did use flip normals because some of the models texture was inside out.

    EDIT:
    So i was searching a bit and found this:
    • Wireframe mode was and has been broken shortly since after the release of the Source SDK, rendering the default texture (purple/black squares) over the model. To add injury to the insult, the flat shaded mode that provided some of the same functionality, was removed some months ago between Episode One and Two.

    Source: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Model_Viewer

    Edit 2:
    So i found out that the minigun has this problem. Maybe i extracted it wrong. Coud you decompile it for me?

    Last edit: OK ive got everything working now. Im happy with how it looks. Thanks for the help
    The Juice King avatar
    Mantra
    The Juice King
    URL to post:

Embed

Share banner
Image URL
HTML embed code
BB embed code
Markdown embed code

Author

KaidemonLP avatar
KaidemonLP username pic Joined 3y ago
Offline
10,027 points Ranked 495th
20 medals 2 legendary 3 rare
  • 2017 Top Contributor Medal icon
  • 30 submissions featured Medal icon
  • 10 submissions featured Medal icon
  • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
  • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
  • One month a member Medal icon

KaidemonLP avatar
KaidemonLP
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!

Game

Sign up to access this!

Category

Share

  • Share on Reddit
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Google+
  • 628 Views
  • 5 Posts
  • 2ySubmitted
  • 2yModified

More from Submitter

WiPs by Submitter

More Help Threads

bcp.crwdcntrl.net tracking pixel