The Game Modding Community - Since 2001

Nowhere else to turn (Hammer Editor)

A Forum Thread for Garry's Mod 13

Updates

Solution Found
  • Hammer launches correctly. If anyone in the future has this problem simply rename your hammer exe to something like "Hammer1"
I'll leave this here to help others thanks for the help.
2y
Well, I've searched through google for a few days now and haven't found a solution to my problem. This is probably my last place to look for a solution so here goes.

About 4 days ago I was editing a map and I closed hammer for about an hour. I went to launch it again and suddenly it wouldn't load. After that, Hammer stopped loading in EVERY game, even the SDK.

I searched and searched about why hammer loads for about 2 seconds showing only a glimpse of the material editor menu then closes itself over and over for every source game but I couldn't find a solution. Any help?

My Specs:
OS: Windows 10 (I've tried running it in compatibility mode as well)
Graphics: Nvidia Geforce GTX 970M
Ram: 16gb 
Processor: Intel core i7 6th Generation
Promotional Content

Posts

  • 2y
    Devieus avatar
    Devieus username pic Joined 8y ago
    Moderator
    ONLINE
    82,241 points Ranked 45th
    67 medals 6 legendary 11 rare
    • 1st Place - Tutorial Contest Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • 2017 Top Contributor Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2017 Medal icon
    It sounds like a registry problem. Do you have another device you can check hammer on?
    Sentinel of the TV remote avatar
    Mantra
    Sentinel of the TV remote
  • 2y
    DrawnHorizons avatar
    DrawnHorizons Joined 2y ago
    Offline
    Posted by Devieus

    It sounds like a registry problem. Do you have another device you can check hammer on?
    I have another laptop but if it is a registry problem what would I do to fix it?

    Bananite
  • 2y
    Devieus avatar
    Devieus username pic Joined 8y ago
    Moderator
    ONLINE
    82,241 points Ranked 45th
    67 medals 6 legendary 11 rare
    • 1st Place - Tutorial Contest Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • 2017 Top Contributor Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2017 Medal icon
    Posted by DrawnHorizons

    Posted by Devieus

    It sounds like a registry problem. Do you have another device you can check hammer on?
    I have another laptop but if it is a registry problem what would I do to fix it?


    Remove all mentions of it, make a nice clean start.

    By the way, have you tried restarting your PC? It could also be a temporary system variable that's screwing things up. It's not likely though.
    Sentinel of the TV remote avatar
    Mantra
    Sentinel of the TV remote
  • 2y
    DrawnHorizons avatar
    DrawnHorizons Joined 2y ago
    Offline
    Posted by Devieus

    Posted by DrawnHorizons

    Posted by Devieus

    It sounds like a registry problem. Do you have another device you can check hammer on?
    I have another laptop but if it is a registry problem what would I do to fix it?


    Remove all mentions of it, make a nice clean start.

    By the way, have you tried restarting your PC? It could also be a temporary system variable that's screwing things up. It's not likely though.
    Once I get to my computer I'll try removing it from Regedit and yeah I did restart my computer. This has been going on for almost a week now.

    Bananite
  • 2y
    Z00L avatar
    Z00L username pic Joined 6y ago
    Offline
    11,128 points Ranked 411th
    34 medals 2 legendary 4 rare
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • Submitted 30 Sprites Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    Posted by DrawnHorizons

    Posted by Devieus

    Posted by DrawnHorizons

    Posted by Devieus

    It sounds like a registry problem. Do you have another device you can check hammer on?
    I have another laptop but if it is a registry problem what would I do to fix it?


    Remove all mentions of it, make a nice clean start.

    By the way, have you tried restarting your PC? It could also be a temporary system variable that's screwing things up. It's not likely though.
    Once I get to my computer I'll try removing it from Regedit and yeah I did restart my computer. This has been going on for almost a week now.


    Last time all the controls were changed in every Hammers of any source game, cleaning the entries with regedit helped alot. hope this works for you

Embed

Share banner
Image URL:
HTML embed code:
BB embed code:
Markdown embed code:
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!

Category

Attributes

Share

  • Share on Reddit
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Google+

Stats

  • 1,138 Views
  • 5 Posts
  • 2y Submitted
  • 2y Updated

Hey, you! Mascot

GameBanana is one of the oldest mod sites on the net. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

  • Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation - send modders points.
  • Post: Give modders your thoughts on their work.
  • Vote: Help your favorite modders win monthly awards.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of problems with mods.
  • Watch: Get notified when mods are updated.

Sound fun? Sign up now!

Already a Bananite? Login

bcp.crwdcntrl.net tracking pixel