Should i stay with GoldSRC, or should i move on?

A Forum Thread for GoldSrc Engine

SEX! Ok, we got your attention. We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

• Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending Admer456 points.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Resistance is futile...

Already a Bananite? Login

Considering the fact that i have been making maps for GoldSRC for over 9 months (yep, before i became a member i started practicing a bit...), i really can't decide whether i should move to Hammer 4 and to mod Source, or should i stick to the simplicity of the GoldSource engine? I know that the Source SDK has distorted itself, at least in the launcher, with the SteamPipe update, but i can get around that.

Anyways, should i stay with GoldSRC, or should i abandon it?

NEW: Skip to the bottom for conclusion

Alright, soon after seeing a few tutorials on the Source engine, I was absolutely thrown off my chair, by just taking a "preview" of it, I especially admire it for the "lightmap control" where you can set how detailed lightmaps can be per face (in the Texture Application tool).

But, there was a problem. In order to make maps for a Source game, I have to purchase a copy of a Source game, so what's the problem in that? Obviously, I'm 13, which means that the only way to earn virtual cash is to do surveys, and create a PayPal account. 

Of course, there are alternatives, such as SteamPowers, which is a site in which you earn points by completing offers and, again, surveys, so you can then later get a PayPal gift card, or Steam Wallet card.