Compiling problems with TFC

A Forum Thread for Team Fortress Classic

Yo, buddy. We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

  • Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending R E X points.
  • Post: Give R E X your thoughts on this Thread.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Interested?

Sign up

Already a Bananite? Login

So anyway, my pet project for a while has been replacing all the models in TFC with not shit ones and HLHD arms. Finally made a breakthough, and now when I compile it none of the animations work. [Here is what it looks like in JHLMV](http://i.imgur.com/IjJkw5L.png "") [And here is what the compile looks like in StudioMDL.](http://i.imgur.com/J5Ph7MB.png "") Can any of you guys help me, or do you need the files?

Posts

  • 2y
    Ring-A-Ding Rampage avatar
    Ring-A-Ding Rampage avatar In Continuum
    Member Joined 6y
    200 points Ranked 19570th
    68 medals 8 legendary 17 rare
    • Submitted 60 Sprites Medal icon
    • Thanked 500 submitters Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Skins Medal icon
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    Ring-A-Ding Rampage avatar
    Ring-A-Ding Rampage
    (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
    I had this problem a short while ago. I was working on some old stuff in my old PC and it turned out that JHLMV was having problems rendering my stuff. If I disabled my graphics adapter, it was able to render my weapon properly. Else the hands did not come properly on the weapon and the anim sequences looked all screwed up.

    I could not find any solution to this problem even after an extensive lookup on the internet.

    Can you upload the source files? I'll try to compile them on my PC and see if the same thing happens. I'm using a laptop now on which that problem does not happen.

    If the same thing happens then maybe, the problem lies within the SMDs.
    Sleep is for the weak. avatar
    Mantra
    Sleep is for the weak.
  • 2y
    schiff. avatar
    schiff. avatar away
    Cell 1 Flag Affiliation: Cell 1
    Member Joined 8y
    19,307 points Ranked 225th
    41 medals 4 legendary 8 rare
    • Submitted 100 Skins Medal icon
    • 30 submissions featured Medal icon
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • Submitted 50 WiPs Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    try use milkshape tool and compile with milkshape compilers.

    also you can try use xash compiler for JHLMV
    one man army. avatar
    Mantra
    one man army.
  • 2y
    R E X avatar
    R E X avatar Offline
    Member Joined 6y
    8,782 points Ranked 499th
    25 medals 1 legendary 4 rare
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • 6-10 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2014 Medal icon
    > **Posted by Ring-A-Ding Rampage**
    >
    > I had this problem a short while ago. I was working on some old stuff in my old PC and it turned out that JHLMV was having problems rendering my stuff. If I disabled my graphics adapter, it was able to render my weapon properly. Else the hands did not come properly on the weapon and the anim sequences looked all screwed up.
    >
    > I could not find any solution to this problem even after an extensive lookup on the internet.
    >
    > Can you upload the source files? I'll try to compile them on my PC and see if the same thing happens. I'm using a laptop now on which that problem does not happen.
    >
    > If the same thing happens then maybe, the problem lies within the SMDs.

    Here are the source files.
     avatar
    Mantra
  • 2y
    simple rulez avatar
    simple rulez avatar Out of Order
    Member Joined 5y
    26,746 points Ranked 159th
    31 medals 5 legendary 5 rare
    • Submitted 100 Skins Medal icon
    • Thanked 500 submitters Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • Thanked 50 submitters Medal icon
    simple rulez avatar
    simple rulez
    980th Production Studios Flag
    980th Production Studios
    Managed to compile the source files.

    I ain't seeing any bones in JHMLV, but there are bones in MS3D.

    I never encounter this bug in my compiles...

    Did you import or edit the SEQ .smd?
    Next Generation of Gamebanana avatar
    Mantra
    Next Generation of Gamebanana
  • 2y
    R E X avatar
    R E X avatar Offline
    Member Joined 6y
    8,782 points Ranked 499th
    25 medals 1 legendary 4 rare
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • 6-10 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2014 Medal icon
    > **Posted by simple rulez**
    >
    > Managed to compile the source files.
    >
    > I ain't seeing any bones in JHMLV, but there are bones in MS3D.
    >
    > I never encounter this bug in my compiles...
    >
    > Did you import or edit the SEQ .smd?

    I did edit the animations, if thats what you're asking.
     avatar
    Mantra
  • 2y
    schiff. avatar
    schiff. avatar away
    Cell 1 Flag Affiliation: Cell 1
    Member Joined 8y
    19,307 points Ranked 225th
    41 medals 4 legendary 8 rare
    • Submitted 100 Skins Medal icon
    • 30 submissions featured Medal icon
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • Submitted 50 WiPs Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    > **Posted by R E X**
    >

    how you edit animations?
    one man army. avatar
    Mantra
    one man army.
  • 2y
    R E X avatar
    R E X avatar Offline
    Member Joined 6y
    8,782 points Ranked 499th
    25 medals 1 legendary 4 rare
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • 6-10 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2014 Medal icon
    > **Posted by Schiff**
    >
    > > **Posted by R E X**
    > >
    >
    > how you edit animations?

    Blender.

    Just to be sure, I tried recompiling a model with an edited mesh but no animation changes. Had to delete the hbox lines as before, and as before its stuck in its reference pose.
     avatar
    Mantra
  • 2y
    Ezequiel-TM avatar
    Ezequiel-TM avatar you see
    Homepage
    Life Tree Flag Affiliation: Life Tree
    Member Joined 3y
    522 points Ranked 8478th
    41 medals 2 legendary 12 rare
    • Submitted 100 Skins Medal icon
    • 30 submissions featured Medal icon
    • Submitted 50 Skins Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • 2nd Place - Site Improvement Ideating Contest Medal icon
    • 10 submissions featured Medal icon
    I want to know the problem

    You say that your movements do not work, if so, I have the solution, the problem is NOT the SMD, but not you programmed speed in the file FPS QC

    I spend my motion that my gun not moved by the simple fact that the fps were in "0" in the QC file

    let me know if this information helped you
    say what you want, I'm crazy! avatar
    Mantra
    say what you want, I'm crazy!
  • 2y
    R E X avatar
    R E X avatar Offline
    Member Joined 6y
    8,782 points Ranked 499th
    25 medals 1 legendary 4 rare
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • 6-10 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2014 Medal icon
    > **Posted by ezequiel-TM**
    >
    > I want to know the problem
    >
    > You say that your movements do not work, if so, I have the solution, the problem is NOT the SMD, but not you programmed speed in the file FPS QC
    >
    > I spend my motion that my gun not moved by the simple fact that the fps were in "0" in the QC file
    >
    >
    > let me know if this information helped you

    How do I set the speed, and at what speed should I set them?

    Edit: Actually, they have the FPS already.
     avatar
    Mantra

Share

Shareable Image:
Share banner
HTML embed code:
BB embed code:
Markdown embed code:

More embeddable images

Bookmark and Share

Submitter

R E X avatar
R E X avatar Offline
Member Joined 6y
8,782 points Ranked 499th
25 medals 1 legendary 4 rare
  • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
  • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
  • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
  • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
  • 6 years a member Medal icon
  • 6-10 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2014 Medal icon

R E X avatar
R E X
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!

Category

Stats

Posts
9
Views
2,053
Date Added
2y
Date Modified
2y
bcp.crwdcntrl.net tracking pixel