The Game Modding Community - Since 2001

Question or Answer? My Story and What's Yours?

A Forum Thread for GameBanana

Question or Answer? My Story and What's Yours?

Well since I'm here at work (population me...), and dying of bordome (night shift that is 12h long - I'm a security officer), I had an idea. Let's all share our stories (true ones, not fiction). Something like, how did we end up here at GB, what are our goles etc... About ur work (not jobs, but ur subs.) and what inspired u in the first place. Also, sorry if I misspell some words, this pc aint drawing lines if I make a mistake in a word, and I am not a great english writer, but I do speak perfectly (almost). So ladies and gentlemen, shall we begin? Ok. My name is Kristian (or as some people nicked me Kris) aka Naitsirk, I hope u figured it out by now it is my name spelled backwards... and I like to map. I first found out about CS1.6 back in 2005 in a game caffe I think, and didn't like it at all. I was just running around trying to be Max Payne and got my head blown off as soon as I left the base... 1 too many times... so I quit and started playing WC3. When I finnished the game and its expantion Frozen Throne, I started playing on maps against the PC. But that got booring after a few months and then I realised that I could build my levels! Sheesh, I was like a kid with a new toy with which I could do almos everything (I thought), but it turned out to have its bounds and I soon got borred of that too :S After a year of playing Age of Myth. and Rise of Nations and bulding maps for them which also got borring, I started playing CS again but at home. And one day, I came to a server just to find out 2 guys chating about some Hammer program. So I asked "WTF is it?" and they replied "The program with which u can make maps for CS dummy", and I was like thinking "I found the holly grail!" and left the server imediately to dl hammer. That was in early 2007 I think. So there I was with a program as complex as m