can't open model in 3ds max 9 32-bit

A Forum Thread for Counter-Strike: Source

Hey, you! We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

  • Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending Kiyoshi points.
  • Post: Give Kiyoshi your thoughts on this Thread.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Join the community!

Sign up

Already a Bananite? Login

pliz help me! I can't open models that I've downloaded.. the example like : http://www.fpsbanana.com/models/946 http://www.fpsbanana.com/models/467 I can't open them.. if open it, it will say "can't open model from C: doc../.../../the model's name.. if I open it in 2010.. same like 3ds max 9 n I can't open smd model in 3ds max 9.. but I have the required app like smd impoter exporter, .etc I don't know why.. but there is anyone can help me? PS : 3DS MAX 2010 is original but 3DS MAX 9 is just a copy, or not a original.. PLIZ!! THERE'S ANYONE CAN HELP ME??? CUZ, I JUST WANT 2 TRY REANIMATE A SKIN!!

Posts

  • 8y
    gameripper avatar
    gameripper avatar Offline
    Member Joined 9y
    55,052 points Ranked 67th
    I didn't think the .smd importer worked for Max 9

    The first one is a .max file. It won't work unless you've got the correct version or above.

    The second file is a .3ds and is kind of twitchy as well if you're on an older version.

    I've downloaded both files and rexported them as .obj which tend to work better. The original files are there too just in case.

    You can download them here

    Try that :)
    Team ARIA avatar
    Mantra
    Team ARIA
  • 8y
    Kiyoshi avatar
    Kiyoshi Offline
    Member Joined 8y
    14,300 points Ranked 304th
    20 medals 1 legendary 3 rare
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Received thanks 50 times Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • Skinner of the Month, April 2012 Medal icon
    • Skinner of the Month, October 2012 Medal icon
    Posted by gameripper

    I didn't think the .smd importer worked for Max 9

    The first one is a .max file. It won't work unless you've got the correct version or above.

    The second file is a .3ds and is kind of twitchy as well if you're on an older version.

    I've downloaded both files and rexported them as .obj which tend to work better. The original files are there too just in case.

    You can download them here

    Try that :)


    yeah, I've downloaded it.
    but as I see.. it's same like the link..
    so there's no different..
    I don't understand..
    maybe I should use 3ds max 2010?
    but I don't have smd importer n exporter 4 it..

    I have ts watch.. it's 3ds file
    eotech is max file

    but what do u mean bout.. rexported?
    sorry 4 my bad english..
  • 8y
    gameripper avatar
    gameripper avatar Offline
    Member Joined 9y
    55,052 points Ranked 67th
    I opened the files fine and exported them again. That upload actually has in addition to the original files some files with the extension -ripper which I added in case there was a problem with the export.

    I actually used Max 2010 so I know it works for both of them. If you have it use that, it's superior tbh.

    You can find SMD Importers and Exporters here
    Team ARIA avatar
    Mantra
    Team ARIA
  • 8y
    ZeeJfps avatar
    ZeeJfps Offline
    Member Joined 9y
    14,583 points Ranked 294th
    9 medals 1 rare
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • Reached 2,500 Points Medal icon
    • Reached 7,500 Points Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    Simply Get max 2010 and download SMD exporter tools and SMD importer tools from here:

    http://www.wunderboy.org/

    Then Try Importing the files you downloaded, if not work try simply opening.

    RED THE README when installing the plugins.
    I am Not Yet Dead
  • 8y
    gameripper avatar
    gameripper avatar Offline
    Member Joined 9y
    55,052 points Ranked 67th
    Posted by Loyen_

    Bad modellers should include *obj files, not *max.. silly people.


    Bad Modellers?
    Team ARIA avatar
    Mantra
    Team ARIA
  • 8y
    Kiyoshi avatar
    Kiyoshi Offline
    Member Joined 8y
    14,300 points Ranked 304th
    20 medals 1 legendary 3 rare
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Received thanks 50 times Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • Skinner of the Month, April 2012 Medal icon
    • Skinner of the Month, October 2012 Medal icon
    Gotta find crack for my 3ds max 2010..
    thx guys..
    gonna try it. (bout the link.. I had downloaded it lol)
  • 8y
    Kiyoshi avatar
    Kiyoshi Offline
    Member Joined 8y
    14,300 points Ranked 304th
    20 medals 1 legendary 3 rare
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Received thanks 50 times Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • Skinner of the Month, April 2012 Medal icon
    • Skinner of the Month, October 2012 Medal icon
    I can open the smd files in max 2010.
    the references opened perfectly..
    but, reload, draw, idle, or else.. (weapon)
    I just could see the bones..

    be4 open..
    it showed me an option..
    If I'm not wrong.. it's bout "pre-phase"..
    after that.. there was an option again..
    I just clicked ok.. n just showed the bones of the weapon n the hands..
  • 8y
    NoZTriX avatar
    NoZTriX Offline
    Member Joined 10y
    Posted by Sackboy

    I can open the smd files in max 2010.
    the references opened perfectly..
    but, reload, draw, idle, or else.. (weapon)
    I just can see the bones..


    You have to open the reference first, then import the anims.
    All I hear is noise
  • 8y
    Kiyoshi avatar
    Kiyoshi Offline
    Member Joined 8y
    14,300 points Ranked 304th
    20 medals 1 legendary 3 rare
    • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
    • Received thanks 50 times Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
    • Skinner of the Month, April 2012 Medal icon
    • Skinner of the Month, October 2012 Medal icon
    Posted by NoZTriX

    Posted by Sackboy

    I can open the smd files in max 2010.
    the references opened perfectly..
    but, reload, draw, idle, or else.. (weapon)
    I just can see the bones..


    You have to open the reference first, then import the anims.


    thx!!
    case resolved!

Share

Shareable Image:
Share banner
HTML embed code:
BB embed code:
Markdown embed code:

More embeddable images

Bookmark and Share

Submitter

Kiyoshi avatar
Kiyoshi Offline
Member Joined 8y
14,300 points Ranked 304th
20 medals 1 legendary 3 rare
  • Reached 100 subscribers Medal icon
  • Received thanks 50 times Medal icon
  • 6 years a member Medal icon
  • Reached 50 subscribers Medal icon
  • Skinner of the Month, April 2012 Medal icon
  • Skinner of the Month, October 2012 Medal icon

Kiyoshi
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!

Category

Stats

Posts
9
Views
2,064
Date Added
8y
bcp.crwdcntrl.net tracking pixel