Can see other parts of map

A Forum Thread for Counter-Strike: Source

Hey, you! We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

  • Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending w4nder points.
  • Post: Give w4nder your thoughts on this Thread.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Join the community!

Sign up

Already a Bananite? Login

Hey. I've had this issue for awhile now. I have multiple skyboxes for different rooms of the map. I put nodraw on the outside of the skyboxes and when you look outside the map from inside, you can see walls and props from the other rooms of the map. Is this some way to solve this? If I were to put the rooms far far away from each other on the map, will this slow down the map?

Posts

  • 8y
    BrainZ avatar
    BrainZ avatar Offline
    Member Joined 10y
    22,687 points Ranked 190th
    18 medals 1 legendary 1 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • GAMEBANANA Spray Contest Entrant Medal icon
    • Became a Club Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • Reached 2,500 Points Medal icon
    I didn't know you were able to set multiple skyboxes.
    gone avatar
    Mantra
    gone
  • 8y
    w4nder avatar
    w4nder Offline
    Member Joined 9y
    806 points Ranked 5717th
    6 medals 1 rare
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    • 2 years a member Medal icon
    • 4 years a member Medal icon
    Yes you can. to help this make more sense, here's a screenshot of what i mean:



    oh and you get the same issue with other rooms in a map even if you dont use multiple skyboxes
    Gun Game Mapper
  • 8y
    Logan Dougall avatar
    Logan Dougall avatar Offline
    Half Life Storm Flag Affiliation: Half Life Storm
    Admin Joined 11y
    15,328 points Ranked 275th
    40 medals 3 legendary 9 rare
    • Achieved Admin clearance Medal icon
    • 500 posts awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 50 posts awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    • 100 posts awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    • 200 posts awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    Logan Dougall avatar
    Logan Dougall
    Half Life Storm Flag
    Half Life Storm
    Admin
    Have you run VVIS? Without it you'll render the entire map as it hasn't been sliced up into separate visleafs. Perhaps edit the thread and add a compile log just in case there are some other problems. No harm.
    √úberStylers {...} ~/clubs/1947
  • 8y
    Free_Kill avatar
    Free_Kill Offline
    Member Joined 9y
    That's just the map. Custom maps are shitty a lot of times like that and you can just ignore it because I get that sometimes too.
    Most people don't care about it and the two cures I know of are to use only one room with the skybox texture or move the rooms far apart (at least several thousand units)
    Lastly you could just make it so the player is too low to see it (IE stack the rooms above eachother, or place a wall so the skybox they see is just sky, so
    O is the player, | is the wall, R is the room.
    o|r their field of view won't permit them to see it.
    Don't worry about it, it's just you seeing through the skybox texture.
    i wish this was witty in some  avatar
    Mantra
    i wish this was witty in some
  • 8y
    Fibbs avatar
    Fibbs avatar Offline
    Member Joined 10y
    29,089 points Ranked 147th
    23 medals 1 rare
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Prefaber of the Month, June 2012 Medal icon
    • MiPper of the Month, June 2012 Medal icon
    • Prefaber of the Month, March 2013 Medal icon
    • Texturer of the Month, July 2014 Medal icon
    • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
    Posted by Free_Kill

    That's just the map. Custom maps are shitty a lot of times like that and you can just ignore it because I get that sometimes too.

    Don't worry about it, it's just you seeing through the skybox texture.

    Please don't post if you barely have any idea what you're talking about.
  • 8y
    Free_Kill avatar
    Free_Kill Offline
    Member Joined 9y
    Posted by muffin!

    Posted by Free_Kill
    Custom maps are shitty.


    Please, just gtfo this game modding community because i like men and wank off to men's underwear magazines.


    Way to cut out half of the stuff I typed. And in fact a lot of custom maps that servers use are really terrible, especially surf and zombie maps.
    And I said "a lot of times" not "all the time". Notice I edited your post like you edited mine. Now we're even.
    i wish this was witty in some  avatar
    Mantra
    i wish this was witty in some
  • 8y
    w4nder avatar
    w4nder Offline
    Member Joined 9y
    806 points Ranked 5717th
    6 medals 1 rare
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    • 2 years a member Medal icon
    • 4 years a member Medal icon
    Guys please, i just want an answer, take this elsewhere
    Gun Game Mapper
  • 8y
    Fibbs avatar
    Fibbs avatar Offline
    Member Joined 10y
    29,089 points Ranked 147th
    23 medals 1 rare
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Prefaber of the Month, June 2012 Medal icon
    • MiPper of the Month, June 2012 Medal icon
    • Prefaber of the Month, March 2013 Medal icon
    • Texturer of the Month, July 2014 Medal icon
    • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
    Posted by w4nder

    Guys please, i just want an answer, take this elsewhere

    Read Lost's post. Compile log + have you run vvis?
  • 8y
    RedyBrek avatar
    RedyBrek avatar Offline
    Member Joined 8y
    1,172 points Ranked 4010th
    Posted by Free_Kill

    And in fact a lot of custom maps that servers use are really terrible, especially surf and zombie maps.


    If you're going to call bullshit, post a link to prove it! And maybe because the people who make them maps suck and cut corners.

    POST COMPILE LOG NOW!
    How did I win that award...I'm avatar
    Mantra
    How did I win that award...I'm
  • 8y
    BrainZ avatar
    BrainZ avatar Offline
    Member Joined 10y
    22,687 points Ranked 190th
    18 medals 1 legendary 1 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • GAMEBANANA Spray Contest Entrant Medal icon
    • Became a Club Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • Reached 2,500 Points Medal icon
    Also, I checked around and apparently you can have multiple instances of sky_camera, but it's not advised to do so. It will cause errors in most occasions and might have caused this.
    gone avatar
    Mantra
    gone
  • 8y
    Free_Kill avatar
    Free_Kill Offline
    Member Joined 9y
    Well, there is no fixing it. The only way is to hide it.
    It's the source engine, not his map. Unless you move them several thousand units away from eachother there is no way to avoid it
    i wish this was witty in some  avatar
    Mantra
    i wish this was witty in some
  • 8y
    Logan Dougall avatar
    Logan Dougall avatar Offline
    Half Life Storm Flag Affiliation: Half Life Storm
    Admin Joined 11y
    15,328 points Ranked 275th
    40 medals 3 legendary 9 rare
    • Achieved Admin clearance Medal icon
    • 500 posts awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 50 posts awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    • 100 posts awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    • 200 posts awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    Logan Dougall avatar
    Logan Dougall
    Half Life Storm Flag
    Half Life Storm
    Admin
    Posted by Free_Kill

    Well, there is no fixing it. The only way is to hide it.
    It's the source engine, not his map. Unless you move them several thousand units away from eachother there is no way to avoid it
    Actually you can fix it, Running VVIS and very very minor optimization (if even needed at all with some constructions) will split the level up quite well so that your not rendering the entire map at the same time.

    That would be why I asked him if he ran VVIS and to post a compile log in case there is an error which is killing the VVIS process.

    Unless you know with 100% provable fact don't state things as such.
    √úberStylers {...} ~/clubs/1947
  • 8y
    [frank.] avatar
    [frank.] Offline
    Member Joined 8y
    355 points Ranked 11532nd
    The problem is that VVIS isn't run. I had this problem before i learnt about leaks and sealing off the map from the void.

    Read up on what a leak is, and when you fix them all, VVIS will run, and you won't see all the other bits of the map. Please do, it makes your map significantly better looking, and it increases framerate.
    colo sytor bor

Share

Shareable Image:
Share banner
HTML embed code:
BB embed code:
Markdown embed code:

More embeddable images

Bookmark and Share

Submitter

w4nder avatar
w4nder Offline
Member Joined 9y
806 points Ranked 5717th
6 medals 1 rare
  • 6 years a member Medal icon
  • One month a member Medal icon
  • 6 months a member Medal icon
  • 1 year a member Medal icon
  • 2 years a member Medal icon
  • 4 years a member Medal icon

w4nder
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!
Sign up to access this!

Category

Stats

Posts
13
Views
1,598
Date Added
8y
bcp.crwdcntrl.net tracking pixel