When you are adding a new submission, you can now elect for it to be private. What this does is upon submit, nobody is notified and the submission will not appear in lists. It will only appear in your sublog. This should be a useful way to preview your submission before fully releasing it, so you can adjust HTML, screenshots and so forth.
When you submit in private mode none of the usual triggers will run - this means you won't receive points, medals, send broadcasts, index to the search engine, etc. These tasks will only run when you first publish it (edit and then set it to Public).
This feature has been requested in various forms quite a bit over the years - here are some new and old ideas about it:
- Preview of your own Submission During Submitting! by [PRince_4] Sharma
- Submission Page Preview by Foxsky
- Save Submission Progress by InTheBeef
Let me know if you encounter issues!