Battlefield 1942 Icon BF1942 Thread

BattleField 1942 Problem

Greetings! We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

  • Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending TankBurger points.
  • Post: Give TankBurger your thoughts on this Thread.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Resistance is futile...

Sign up

Already a Bananite? Login

So about a week ago, i bought the "EA Warfare Collection" mainly for Battlefield 1942 + Vietnam, but anyway. When i got home, eager to play 1942 i installed it and the Road to Rome expansion pack, which also came in the Warfare Collection. The game and expansion installed fine and without incident, but as soon as i try to play the game problems strike. The main menu would lag unbelievably, and it was worse in-game, i orignally thought this might be a problem with my computer (check profile for scecs) so i fiddled with the settings and strangely found that it ran better on higher rez and detail rather than low (wtf?). After exhausting all possible combinations of detail levels, someone suggested it might be a virus. Yesterday my brother did a huge virus + spyware scan, and cleaned the computer out and low and behold the menu no longer lags, but now when i try to load a level to play, the game will minimise and wont let me open it again, whenever i click on "battlefield 1942" on my taskbar it will open it for a split second and minimise again, then about half way through loading a level it will just close. I cant think of anything else to do, could someone please help, any serious suggestions are appreciated. thanks BF1942 Requirements

Posts

  • 10y
    microwave avatar
    microwave Offline
    Member Joined 11y
    695 points Ranked 6394th
    Do you use wifi?
    C/PFC US Marines avatar
    Mantra
    C/PFC US Marines
  • 10y
    TankBurger avatar
    TankBurger Offline
    Member Joined 11y
    1,189 points Ranked 3876th
    Posted by microwave

    Do you use wifi?

    What's wifi?
    We're back to bread ladies. avatar
    Mantra
    We're back to bread ladies.
  • 10y
    microwave avatar
    microwave Offline
    Member Joined 11y
    695 points Ranked 6394th
    Wi-fi connection. its link when another comp in ur house has the main plugin, and you have a little thing that picks up the signal from that
    C/PFC US Marines avatar
    Mantra
    C/PFC US Marines
  • 10y
    xCanadiansoldier avatar
    Member Joined 11y
    194 points Ranked 17723rd
    You gots a bad computer man!
    I got the warfare collection too
    it comes with 2 medal of honour games
    and 2 battlefield games
    and 2 battlefield extension pack( it comes with secreat weapons trust me go download it XD)
     avatar
    Mantra
  • 10y
    TankBurger avatar
    TankBurger Offline
    Member Joined 11y
    1,189 points Ranked 3876th
    Nah, im on the only working PC in my house
    We're back to bread ladies. avatar
    Mantra
    We're back to bread ladies.
  • 10y
    TankBurger avatar
    TankBurger Offline
    Member Joined 11y
    1,189 points Ranked 3876th
    Posted by Akio

    You gots a bad computer man!
    I got the warfare collection too
    it comes with 2 medal of honour games
    and 2 battlefield games
    and 2 battlefield extension pack( it comes with secreat weapons trust me go download it XD)


    Downloading secret weapons would not only take me about 3 and a half years, it would be pointless because as i said, 1942 wont work.

    I have the same problems with road to rome, too
    We're back to bread ladies. avatar
    Mantra
    We're back to bread ladies.
  • 10y
    strangemodul3 avatar
    Member Joined 12y
    1,551 points Ranked 2984th
    Sounds to me like a corrupt install.
  • 10y
    TankBurger avatar
    TankBurger Offline
    Member Joined 11y
    1,189 points Ranked 3876th
    Posted by strangemodul3

    Sounds to me like a corrupt install.


    When i installed it, it didnt say anything went wrong, i'll wipe it all off, and just install 1942 without road to rome. See if that works
    We're back to bread ladies. avatar
    Mantra
    We're back to bread ladies.
  • 10y
    TankBurger avatar
    TankBurger Offline
    Member Joined 11y
    1,189 points Ranked 3876th
    Well the re-install didnt work at all, still has the same problems. I'm just gunna abandon this whole thing and play Medieval 2. Thanks for trying though.
    We're back to bread ladies. avatar
    Mantra
    We're back to bread ladies.
  • 7y
    poer avatar
    poer Offline
    Member Joined 7y
    yesterday I'm uninstall this game ,because crash
    Bananite
  • 7y
    Smithz avatar
    Smithz avatar Offline
    Member Joined 10y
    669,577 points Ranked 2nd
    18 medals 4 rare
    • Reached 75,000 Points Medal icon
    • Reached 200,000 Points Medal icon
    • Reached 500,000 Points Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Became a Club Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    Lmao best bump evaaaaar.
    Selling points - message me! avatar
    Mantra
    Selling points - message me!
  • 7y
    BrainZ avatar
    BrainZ avatar Offline
    Member Joined 10y
    22,660 points Ranked 191st
    18 medals 1 legendary 1 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • GAMEBANANA Spray Contest Entrant Medal icon
    • Became a Club Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • Reached 2,500 Points Medal icon
    It's his second or first post as well. xD
    gone avatar
    Mantra
    gone

Share

Shareable Image:
Share banner
HTML embed code:
BB embed code:
Markdown embed code:

More embeddable images

Bookmark and Share

Submitter

TankBurger avatar
TankBurger Offline
Member Joined 11y
1,189 points Ranked 3876th

TankBurger
Send a Private Message to the submitter

Category

Stats

Posts
12
Views
4,366
Date Added
10y
Date Modified
10y