Source Engine Icon SOURCE Thread

Model textures too sharp (no LOD)

Hello world. We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

  • Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending DomiTibingen points.
  • Post: Give DomiTibingen your thoughts on this Thread.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Sound fun?

Join GameBanana

Already a Bananite? Login

Hello.

I have a Wip about Source grass models  V2 and my grass has sharp flickering pixeled textures.
From the distance the grass textures don't blur and look to sharp. 
SO I would like to know is there a way to fix this? 
Maybe i need to add more map channels in 3DS max or something else? 

Thanks!

Posts

  • 1y
    Devieus avatar
    Devieus avatar ONLINE
    Moderator Joined 7y
    79,440 points Ranked 49th
    63 medals 4 legendary 10 rare
    • 1st Place - Tutorial Contest Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Twelve Winner! Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Sixteen Winner! Medal icon
    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    • Agree x 1
    Sentinel of the TV remote avatar
    Mantra
    Sentinel of the TV remote
  • 1y
    DomiTibingen avatar
    Member Joined 5y
    1,271 points Ranked 3681st
    16 medals 1 rare
    • Submitted 15 Models Medal icon
    • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    Found out that when i use $alphatest the textures of grass are sharp, but when i use translucent they are good and blury from distance but they have soring issues....

    Like a boss
  • 1y
    DomiTibingen avatar
    Member Joined 5y
    1,271 points Ranked 3681st
    16 medals 1 rare
    • Submitted 15 Models Medal icon
    • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    P.S. - witch mitmaps? i use diffuse and opacity

    Like a boss
  • 1y
    Devieus avatar
    Devieus avatar ONLINE
    Moderator Joined 7y
    79,440 points Ranked 49th
    63 medals 4 legendary 10 rare
    • 1st Place - Tutorial Contest Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Twelve Winner! Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Sixteen Winner! Medal icon
    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    P.S. - witch mitmaps? i use diffuse and opacity

    It's a thing VTF has, it being a child file type of DDS. If you enable mipmaps during texture creation, the texture file will contain multiple copies of itself each being 1/4 the size of the previous layer down to a pixel. When you're too far away, the game will show a different mipmap so the textures doesn't look as sharp.
    • Helpful x 1
    • Interesting x 1
    • Thanks x 1
    Sentinel of the TV remote avatar
    Mantra
    Sentinel of the TV remote
  • 1y
    DomiTibingen avatar
    Member Joined 5y
    1,271 points Ranked 3681st
    16 medals 1 rare
    • Submitted 15 Models Medal icon
    • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    Posted by Devieus

    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    P.S. - witch mitmaps? i use diffuse and opacity

    It's a thing VTF has, it being a child file type of DDS. If you enable mipmaps during texture creation, the texture file will contain multiple copies of itself each being 1/4 the size of the previous layer down to a pixel. When you're too far away, the game will show a different mipmap so the textures doesn't look as sharp.
    Hmm.... Thank you. :) I'm still new in this... can you tell me what mipmap filter should I use? and Sharpen filter?

    Like a boss
  • 1y
    Devieus avatar
    Devieus avatar ONLINE
    Moderator Joined 7y
    79,440 points Ranked 49th
    63 medals 4 legendary 10 rare
    • 1st Place - Tutorial Contest Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Twelve Winner! Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Sixteen Winner! Medal icon
    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    P.S. - witch mitmaps? i use diffuse and opacity

    It's a thing VTF has, it being a child file type of DDS. If you enable mipmaps during texture creation, the texture file will contain multiple copies of itself each being 1/4 the size of the previous layer down to a pixel. When you're too far away, the game will show a different mipmap so the textures doesn't look as sharp.
    Hmm.... Thank you. :) I'm still new in this... can you tell me what mipmap filter should I use? and Sharpen filter?


    There's only one, unless you're using some weird arcane VTF exporter.
    Sentinel of the TV remote avatar
    Mantra
    Sentinel of the TV remote
  • 1y
    DomiTibingen avatar
    Member Joined 5y
    1,271 points Ranked 3681st
    16 medals 1 rare
    • Submitted 15 Models Medal icon
    • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    • One month a member Medal icon
    • 6 months a member Medal icon
    • 1 year a member Medal icon
    Posted by Devieus

    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Posted by DomiTibingen

    Posted by Devieus

    Your texture needs mipmaps.
    P.S. - witch mitmaps? i use diffuse and opacity

    It's a thing VTF has, it being a child file type of DDS. If you enable mipmaps during texture creation, the texture file will contain multiple copies of itself each being 1/4 the size of the previous layer down to a pixel. When you're too far away, the game will show a different mipmap so the textures doesn't look as sharp.
    Hmm.... Thank you. :) I'm still new in this... can you tell me what mipmap filter should I use? and Sharpen filter?


    There's only one, unless you're using some weird arcane VTF exporter.
    I'm using VTFedit to create textures... but I found something on valve dev. viki.... 

    Like a boss

Share

Shareable Image:
Share banner
HTML embed code:
BB embed code:
Markdown embed code:

More embeddable images

Bookmark and Share

Submitter

DomiTibingen avatar
Member Joined 5y
1,271 points Ranked 3681st
16 medals 1 rare
  • Submitted 15 Models Medal icon
  • Became a Studio Leader Medal icon
  • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
  • One month a member Medal icon
  • 6 months a member Medal icon
  • 1 year a member Medal icon

DomiTibingen
Send a Private Message to the submitter

Category

Stats

Posts
7
Views
1,247
Date Added
1y
Date Modified
1y

Featurings

  • Today's Pick May 19 2016
bcp.crwdcntrl.net tracking pixel