Source Engine Icon SOURCE Thread

Main differences between CS:S & CS:GO mapping?

Greetings! We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

  • Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending roma points.
  • Post: Give roma your thoughts on this Thread.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Stop Lurking!

Sign up

Already a Bananite? Login

Hi,

I wanna make some maps for CS:GO in my free time, but I only made maps for CS:S. Are there any big differences I should know before I try to make a map? 

Anything helps, thanks m8.

Posts

  • 1y
    Devieus avatar
    Devieus avatar ONLINE
    Moderator Joined 7y
    77,176 points Ranked 50th
    62 medals 4 legendary 9 rare
    • 1st Place - Tutorial Contest Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Medal icon
    • Returned 5000 times Medal icon
    • 15+ Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2016 Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Twelve Winner! Medal icon
    • GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2015 Day Sixteen Winner! Medal icon
    Report post
    Not really, mapping among source games isn't that different anyway.

    Sentinel of the TV remote avatar
    Mantra
    Sentinel of the TV remote
  • 1y
    Patriot_[GER] avatar
    Member Joined 4y
    1,461 points Ranked 3147th
    18 medals 1 rare
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Texturer of the Month, June 2013 Medal icon
    • 7th Place - GameBanana Around the Globe Contest Medal icon
    • Useful Props & Prefabs Contest Entrant Medal icon
    • Tutorial Contest Entrant Medal icon
    • 1-5 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2014 Medal icon
    Patriot_[GER] Made in Germany [GER] Flag
    Made in Germany [GER]
    Report post
    If you want to make minigame maps or maps containing much functional stuff, you will have to accept lower limits.

    There is the total "models" limit, that means the limit of functional brushes like func_brush, trigger_multiple, func_physbox,...
    This limit has been decreased from 1024 to 696 (tested). This also includes dynamic props like prop_door_rotating, prop_physics, prop_dynamic,..(also tested). The players will also count.

    So it means you are more limited for making functional games. If you start a map which is going over this limit, the game will disconnect from the server and give this error:


    Host_Error: CVEngineServer::PrecacheModel: [model] overflow, too many models
    Warning: Table modelprecache is full, can't add some_model

    This has been a problem for some minigame maps and jail maps.
    • Win x 1
    • Helpful x 1
    Germanophile
  • 1y
    roma avatar
    roma Offline
    Member Joined 9y
    9,212 points Ranked 460th
    19 medals 1 legendary 3 rare
    • Submitted 200 Threads Medal icon
    • 6 years a member Medal icon
    • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Became a Club Leader Medal icon
    • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon
    Report post
    Posted by Patriot_[GER]

    There is the total "models" limit, that means the limit of functional brushes like func_brush, trigger_multiple, func_physbox,...
    This limit has been decreased from 1024 to 696 (tested). This also includes dynamic props like prop_door_rotating, prop_physics, prop_dynamic,..(also tested). The players will also count.




    That's what I wanted to know, that is not neat at all! 

    space
  • 1y
    Patriot_[GER] avatar
    Member Joined 4y
    1,461 points Ranked 3147th
    18 medals 1 rare
    • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
    • Texturer of the Month, June 2013 Medal icon
    • 7th Place - GameBanana Around the Globe Contest Medal icon
    • Useful Props & Prefabs Contest Entrant Medal icon
    • Tutorial Contest Entrant Medal icon
    • 1-5 Entries! GameBanana’s Christmas Giveaway 2014 Medal icon
    Patriot_[GER] Made in Germany [GER] Flag
    Made in Germany [GER]
    Report post
    Posted by roma

    Posted by Patriot_[GER]

    There is the total "models" limit, that means the limit of functional brushes like func_brush, trigger_multiple, func_physbox,...
    This limit has been decreased from 1024 to 696 (tested). This also includes dynamic props like prop_door_rotating, prop_physics, prop_dynamic,..(also tested). The players will also count.




    That's what I wanted to know, that is not neat at all! 

    Hey there, it's me again ;)

    There are some good news after the "Operation Wildfire" update.
    Even though Valve f*cked up vrad, they raised the limit for our "model" limit. I didn't test exactly, but CS:GO endures 1000 models now.

    I think we should be satisfied with that ;)

    I thought I just write those few words, as you seem to be interested to know this.
    Germanophile

Share

Shareable Image:
Share banner
HTML embed code:
BB embed code:
Markdown embed code:

More embeddable images

Bookmark and Share

Submitter

roma avatar
roma Offline
Member Joined 9y
9,212 points Ranked 460th
19 medals 1 legendary 3 rare
  • Submitted 200 Threads Medal icon
  • 6 years a member Medal icon
  • Submitted 100 Threads Medal icon
  • Returned 1000 times Medal icon
  • Became a Club Leader Medal icon
  • Reached 1,000 Points Medal icon

roma
Send a Private Message to the submitter

Category

Stats

Posts
4
Views
1,720
Date Added
1y

Featurings

  • Today's Pick Jan 26 2016