Insurgency: Modern Infantry Combat [MOD] Icon INS Thread

New to Skinning here

Greetings! We are one of the oldest mod sites on the Interwebs. Sign up and maximize your browsing experience.

• Subscribe: Get notified of new submissions like this.
  • Say Thanks: Show your appreciation by sending seth0050 points.
  • Flag: Alert moderators and warn members of a problem with this Thread.
  • Watch: Get notified when this Thread is updated.
Mascot

Stop Lurking!

Become a Bananite

Already a Bananite? Login

just looking for help im using Gimp2

basically like what the title says, im new to skinning and all things modding. ive checked out videos on you tube which got me started, but i really think i need one on one help, maybe a sort of apprenticeship. right now im currently trying to make a 75th rangers Mogadishu skin but im stuck on how to get get rid of the camo of the regular marine except for the stitches and seams and wrinkles, so my new pattern will still have them. any help would be appreciated, and if your interested in one on one help add m up on steam im mi_trooper42. thanks!

• 4y
    RedRogueXIII avatar
    Member Joined 11y
    4,363 points Ranked 1046th
    25 medals 1 legendary 7 rare
    • 10 years a member Medal icon
    • 3rd Place - BLACKFOX Skinning Contest Medal icon
    • 2nd Place - Oddities Redux Skinning Contest Medal icon
    • 2nd Place - Sci-Fi Concepts Contest Medal icon
    • 3rd Place - Movie Replicas Modeling Contest Medal icon
    • 25 posts awarded Exemplary Feedback Medal icon
    I don't use gimp but:

1. Overlay your new camo texture on a new layer.
    2. Create an opacity layer mask for it, dim the opacity for this layer temporarily to see what's under it.
    3. Erase parts of the mask that are over seams and other detail you want to keep.
    4. Restore new layer opacity back to 100%.
    5. Wonder why it doesn't really look right, and decide to paint on stitching, cloth folds and small detail yourself for best results.
  • 4y